Changing dbUID

Discussions about data interchange products Cameo DataHub and Magic RQ functionalities

Moderator: Moderators

Changing dbUID

Postby geoalesolo@gmail.com » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:05 pm

We are not able to connect to the original database because it got moved to a different server. Is there a way to change the dbUID to match the new Database Identifier?
geoalesolo@gmail.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Posts Rating:0
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Changing dbUID

Postby supatp » Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:35 am

Hello,

Basically, DataHub link with bind with DOORS server name and port that you log on to. This information is kept in the model, so you may find and replace this naming.

First, you may need to find, what is the old server in the model.
1. Open a project that work with DOORS.
2. Click menu Edit> Find...
3. Enter "dhshare".
4. Looking for the result similar to this: <server name>:<port>
doorsid.png


Then you may find the new DOORS server name by click at DOORS Client menu Help> About, then looking for the "Database server:".
It should be formatted as <port>@<server name>.

To replace the server name: Before doing this we recommended to backup the project file before continue, or if it's a TW project, you may commit all the work.
1. Open the project.
2. Click menu Find and Replace...
3. Enter to Find the old server info. <old server name>:<port>
4. Enter to Replace with the new server info. <new server name>:<port>
5. Choose yes to replace all entry in the project.
6. Save and reopen the project.

Best Regards,
Supat P.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
supatp
Customer Support
Customer Support
 
Posts: 165
Posts Rating:10
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:45 am

Re: Changing dbUID

Postby geoalesolo@gmail.com » Mon Sep 25, 2017 12:41 pm

Thank you, this is exactly what I am looking for!
When copying and pasting the information it added a space in front of the text and of course it wasn't point it correctly. I then tried to find and replace that empty space in bulk but the search function wasn't picking up that blank space. I don't want to manually delete all these blank spaces because there's hundreds of DH instances . Can you think of a solution to removing blank spaces in front of the text?
geoalesolo@gmail.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Posts Rating:0
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:38 am

Re: Changing dbUID

Postby geoalesolo@gmail.com » Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:25 am

Got it working all working thamks!

Another questions is how to delete DH_Entities that are not being used? The parentspaths no longer exist or are being used and is slowing DataHub down.
geoalesolo@gmail.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Posts Rating:0
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:38 am


Return to Cameo DataHub, Magic RQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest