How do I specify the message in a message flow?

Business process modeling related questions, BPMN 1, and 2 standards.

Moderator: Moderators

How do I specify the message in a message flow?

Postby jim.wilson@keeltech.com » Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:41 pm

I'm using Cameo Business Modeler 18.0.

Setup: 1) Create a new collaboration diagram. 2) Add two pools. 3) Add a message flow connecting the two pools. 4) Click on the message flow, then on the "Referenced Messages" icon that pops up.

This brings up the "Select Message" window. The problem is that I can't find any way to select or create a message. Suggestions?
jim.wilson@keeltech.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Posts Rating:0
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:23 pm

Re: How do I specify the message in a message flow?

Postby vilgav » Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:11 am

Dear Jim Wilson,

Thank you for the question. This problem is already known and will be fixed in MagicDraw 18.0 SP2, and forward. The release is planned in the end of September.

Currently, as a workaround, please follow these instructions:
1. Start Cameo Business Modeler 18.0.
2. In the Main menu go to Options -> Perspectives -> Customize.
3. Select Business Architect perspective -> Context Menu Actions and press Edit button.
4. Expand "Create Element" category and set "Message" element to be available in Standard/Expert perspectives and press OK:
customize.png

5. After that select to use "Business Architect" perspective. In such case you will be able to create messages in the containment tree:
msg.png

6. Now after pressing "Referenced Messages" icon in the message flow Smart Manipulator toolbar, in the appeared "Select Message" dialog you should be able to select, or create a new message:
select.png

create.png


Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you are experiencing. Let us know about you progress.

Sincerely,
No Magic, Inc. Customer Support
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
vilgav
Forum Beginner
Forum Beginner
 
Posts: 32
Posts Rating:2
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:41 am
Full name: Vilma Gavutyte

Re: How do I specify the message in a message flow?

Postby jim.wilson@keeltech.com » Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:18 am

Thanks for your prompt and thorough response. I have confirmed that the workaround addresses my issue. :)
jim.wilson@keeltech.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Posts Rating:0
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:23 pm

Re: How do I specify the message in a message flow?

Postby vilgav » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:50 pm

Dear Jim Wilson,

Thank you for providing the status. We are glad to hear that solution is found and successful work can be continued.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

Kind regards,
No Magic Customer Support
User avatar
vilgav
Forum Beginner
Forum Beginner
 
Posts: 32
Posts Rating:2
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:41 am
Full name: Vilma Gavutyte


Return to Business Process Modeling (BPMN)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests