Numbering in OV-5b and OV-5a ?

Discussions about UPDM functionalities

Moderators: lintut, Moderators

Numbering in OV-5b and OV-5a ?

Postby beckyhoke@gmail.com » Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:08 pm

Hi No Magic,

I am fairly new to Magicdraw, currently taking training in SysML and learning UPDM as we go. I am currently working on OV-5b and OV-5a diagrams.

I have two different numbering questions:

1. I am looking for possible ways to number the Operational Activities for both the OV-5b and OV-5a to reflect the decomposed sub-processes and make it easier to reference activities when presenting the activity diagram. I was thinking of something similar to this type of numbering:
o 1.0 Process
• 1.1 Sub-Process
• 1.1.1 Sub-sub Process
• 1.1.2 Sub-sub process
• 1.2 Sub Process
• 1.2.1 Sub-sub Process
• 1.2.2 Sub-sub process.
o 2.0 Process
• 2.1 Sub-Process

1a. Is there a way to associate a number with the processes so that if the numbers are edited or an extra step is added the numbers will auto-correct to the correct order? Example: Let’s say I want to add another step between 1.1 and 1.2? Is it possible to set it up so that after the edit the numbers in would auto correct?

1b. If question #1a is not possible, it seems like one work around would be to manually type a number in front of an element title. Is there any other work around that you know of, perhaps using another data field like “identifier” where we could manually enter the number?

2. Is it possible to auto-generate numbered elements as they are corrected? For example: Auto-numbering the operational activity edges? If so, could you point me in the right direction in how to do this?

Thanks again for your help and advice!

Becky
beckyhoke@gmail.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Posts Rating:0

Re: Numbering in OV-5b and OV-5a ?

Postby Airenas » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:22 am

Hi Becky,

Thank you for contacting us!