Operational/Information Exchange Questions

Discussions about UPDM functionalities

Moderators: lintut, Moderators

Operational/Information Exchange Questions

Postby beckyhoke@gmail.com » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:45 am

Hi There,

I am fairly new to magicdraw. Currently training for SysML. Also trying to learn MagicDraw/DoDAF/UPDM as we go. I am currently working on a project creating an OV-5b and OV-3. I’ve come across a few UPDM MagicDraw questions that I haven’t been able to figure out with google search:

1. On the Manage Operational Exchanges wizard. There seems to be two different ways to show multiple IEs going through an Operational activity edge. One way is to use two different OEs (true) on separate lines (each with only one IE associated with one OE). The other way seems to select one OE where there are two IEs associated within one line. Is there a difference in the logic of these two different ways to show multiple IEs? Is one way more preferred than the other? We noticed that when we created the OV-3 excel chart that it would organize by OEs. The OV-3 chart seem to have some inconsistency with some OEs only having one IE, some have multiple IEs, and some OEs that are blank (I’m assuming these are unused). Any thoughts on this?

2. Is it possible to align the Carried Item Label for an Operational Activity Edge to the: (Left/Right/Middle (Current)/or even vertical)?

3. Is it possible to hide the Information exchange Id (example: IE36) from the carried item label for an operational activity edge?

Thanks for all of your help and advice!
Becky
beckyhoke@gmail.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Posts Rating:0

Re: Operational/Information Exchange Questions

Postby neringa.montvydiene@nomagic.com » Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:45 am

Dear Becky,

Thank you for the questions.