Oracle Reverse Engineering

Discussions about database modeling product Cameo Data Modeler functionalities

Moderator: Moderators

Oracle Reverse Engineering

Postby Cameo Novice » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:28 am

Hi,

Please excuse the beginner question. I am new to the Cameo Data Molder and am trying to reverse engineer from and Oracle schema. I have connected to my database and have have imported all the Code engineering data so that I have the Oracle types. I have created a top level element with a database and added a schema. I can manually add tables, views and other Oracle specific details, but so far have not managed to import an existing schema with all the tables and views.

I am feeling a little thick. Can anyone please help me with reverse engineering a schema, it must be possible as a number of posts mention doing this.

Yours in hope

Steve
Cameo Novice
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Posts Rating:0

Re: Oracle Reverse Engineering

Postby gedkvi » Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:42 am

Hello,

The basic reverse straight from a database is as follows:
1. Create a DDL code engineering set (Right click Code Engineering Sets -> New -> DDL -> Oracle)
2. Double click the created Oracle DDL engineering set.
3. Click on Reverse from DB and fill out the data
1.png

I assume that up to this point everything is done already.
...I have connected to my database...

4. Now you only need to right click the created element and select Reverse.
5. Click OK in the following dialogs to use the default reverse settings.

After doing that, you should have all required modules imported to a project and tables reversed.

Please let us know if some of the steps are unclear or you are stuck in.

Also, for more information about Code Engineering and Cameo Data Modeler can be found in <MagicDraw_installation_dir>/manual/MagicDraw CodeEngineering UserGuide.pdf and <MagicDraw_installation_dir>/manual/Cameo Data Modeler Plugin UserGuide.pdf

Sincerely,
No Magic Customer Support