Writing your own code generator for e.g., Activity Diagrams

General discussions about code engineering

Moderator: Moderators

Writing your own code generator for e.g., Activity Diagrams

Postby MSDL » Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:52 am

I am new to MagicDraw. I would like to write my own code generator, which is fully customized and can generate code for any model element I want. Currently the only option I see is to write a complete plug-in for this. Is that correct?
I would expect that code templates and a code generation language would be present (like e.g., Acceleo https://wiki.eclipse.org/Acceleo/Getting_Started), but I cannot seem to find this.

What is the best way to write your custom code generator? Thank you in advance!

(By the way, I am aware of the LieberLieber Embedded Engineer plug-in, but I am looking for custom-made code generation.)
MSDL
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Posts Rating:1

Re: Writing your own code generator for e.g., Activity Diagrams

Postby gedkvi » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:09 am

Hello,

Unfortunately, the Code Generation code is not exposed to OpenAPI, thus there is nothing to extend.
The only way would be to, like you mentioned, write a plug-in from scratch yourself.
Of course there are various profiles like XML Schema Profile, Java SE8 Model Library and other profiles that contain various profiles. They contain stereotypes, types and other information that might come in handy to you in your model. And you would not need to duplicate them by yourself. They can be found in the profiles or modelLibraries folders in the installation directory.

Sincerely,
No Magic Customer Support
gedkvi
Customer Support
Customer Support

Posts Rating:7

Postby stefan.roehrig@vaillant-group.com » Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:24 pm

Is it correct, that there is no way to customize the java code generation which is delivered with MagicDraw professional?
stefan.roehrig@vaillant-group.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Posts Rating:0

Postby gedkvi » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:20 am