Determine end-to-end connectivity over 'passive' parts

General discussions about MagicDraw

Moderator: Moderators

Determine end-to-end connectivity over 'passive' parts

Postby david.d.hawes@lmco.com » Fri Jul 16, 2021 11:05 am

Good afternoon. I'm new to MD and SysML in general so I could be way off base in my approach.

I'm trying to model some aspects of a physical IT infrastructure (Computers, Switches, etc).
I have a pretty basic 'system' model that consists of Computer, Network Switch and other blocks as part properties. They are connected through ProxyPorts:
Screenshot 2021-07-16 130717.png

From this I can generate a Whitebox ICD table which I need to document how the system needs to be wired.
I also need to generate a more logical table that shows the 'active' components of the system (Computers, Switches) and bypasses the more 'passive' parts of the system (PatchPanels (PP) or I/O plates in a room).
So for the example above I would want to see
ES1/p1 -> C1/eth0
ES1/p2 -> C2/eth0
ES1/p3 -> C3/eth0
This type of table is needed to better show the switch configuration and allocation of ports to individual active components.

I've tried looking at Metachains to walk 'down' the connections but wasn't having any luck. I thought maybe adding a signal (LAN Data) to the active components would allow me to add a derived property but didn't have any luck there either.

Any ideas or thoughts would be appreciated
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
david.d.hawes@lmco.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Posts Rating:0

Re: Determine end-to-end connectivity over 'passive' parts

Postby ogirdor » Wed Jul 21, 2021 2:20 am

Hello David,

if you set the multiplicity of the derivedProperty to something like * then you get multiple results.

BR
ogirdor
Forum Beginner
Forum Beginner

Posts Rating:17

Postby david.d.hawes@lmco.com » Wed Jul 21, 2021 6:06 am