SQL Server 2005 Parsing Problem

General discussions about code engineering

Moderator: Moderators

SQL Server 2005 Parsing Problem

Postby jgemmill » Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:53 am

I'm new to MD and enjoy it very much, thanks!

I'm trying to reverse a SQL Server 2005 DB that makes heavy use of stored procedures. It seems that MD cannot parse stored procedures for SQL Server ("Parsing failed (<My Documents>\StoredProcs.sql) Encountered "CREATE PROCEDURE" at line 28, column 1."), although I do see a <<procedure>> stereotype for Oracle. Are there plans to add this for SQL Server? If not, I'm not sure how to add the functionality myself, but there appear to be facilities to do this in MD. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Although the tables in the DB come through fine (from a direct database connection), there are numerous other parsing errors when attempting to import the stored procedures from a DDL file (they are ignored when reversing directly from the DB), such as:

From the line:
SET ANSI_NULLS ON
Parsing failed (<My Documents>\StoredProcs.sql) Encountered "SET ANSI_NULLS" at line 4, column 1.

From the line:
SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
Parsing failed (<My Documents>\StoredProcs.sql) Encountered "SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER" at line 6, column 1.

From the line (part of CREATE TABLE command):
)WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON, FILLFACTOR = 90) ON [PRIMARY]
Parsing failed (<My Documents>\StoredProcs.sql) Encountered "=" at line 20, column 50.
(indicating the STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE token is not recognized; all the rest on that line also do not parse, but it works as ")WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF) ON [PRIMARY]")

I can comment out the offending elements (a lot of them...) but it would be really nice to have a complete parsing with no errors.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

-=> J <=-
jgemmill
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Posts Rating:0

Re: SQL Server 2005 Parsing Problem