Redefining block properties

Discussions about ParaMagic functionalities

Moderator: Moderators

Redefining block properties

Postby pedrospada » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:42 pm

I receive an error message from Paramagic whenever I use "Redefine" command in two, or more, SysML child blocks.

The pop-up error mesage states: "The following properties in the parent block are redefined by more than one property in the child block. Currently only one property in a child block can redefine a property in the parent block".

Even though I copied an example straight from the book "A Practical Guide to SysML", page 170, figure 7.49., Paramagic Solver would inform that my SysML structure is invalid.

I went through the "Limitations" section in the manual, but found nothing about this issue. Is this actually a bug? Is there a workaround it? Thank you.

paramagic_bug_redefine.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
pedrospada
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Posts Rating:0
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:25 pm

Re: Redefining block properties

Postby rose.yntema@intercax.com » Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:54 pm

Hello,

Unfortunately this does appear to be a bug in ParaMagic. This error message was intended to show up (as indicated by the wording) only when two or more properties in a single specialized block redefine the same property in a geneal block, which causes a conflict during interpretation of parametric equations. The bug here is of course that the two redefined properties are in different child blocks, and are therefore not in conflict.

This bug appears to me to only be found in the case of explicit redefinition (User Guide section 6.9.2.1) where in your case each weight value property in the specialized blocks is marked as explicitly redefining the weight value property of the general block. Implicit redefinition (User Guide section 6.9.2.2) is where a value property in a specialized block is implicitly assumed to be redefining a value property of the same name in the general block, and this appears not to have the same bug found in explicit redefinition. As a workaround I suggest you try removing the explicit redefinition (since the value properties already have the same name). Let me know if you have any trouble with this at a later stage while building and executing parametrics.

Meanwhile I will forward this bug to our technical team and we will hope to have it fixed in our next release, since explicit redefinition is of course preferable to implicit redefinition.

Thanks for your inquiry,
Rose
rose.yntema@intercax.com
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Posts Rating:1
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:13 pm


Return to ParaMagic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests