Page 1 of 1

How to purge old versions in teamwork

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:44 am
by etienne_f
Hello,

I would like to know how to purge old versions of a project in the the teamwork repository. For instance we created a project more than one year ago and there are today 1780 different versions saved in the repository. The old versions could be deleted because the team doesn't want to recover them, but I didn't see how it is possible. The other problem is the size of the teamwork repository. Today the weight of our projects in the repository is ~10 Go and it increases until there will be not enough space on the disk. Before this problem appears I would like to purge the oldest versions of our projects.

Can you tell me how to do that ?

Best Regards

Etienne

Re: How to purge old versions in teamwork

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 5:24 am
by saulius_p
Dear Etienne,

Clean up is not recommended but if you really need it you should do the following thing:

1. Stop teamwork server.
2. Backup your project directory.
3. Go to teamwork server projects directory, find there file projects.xml and using this file find directory for project you want to clean up.
4. In this directory you can remove files modelXXX.xml.zip XXX is the version number. Each version is saved in its own file.
For example if you want to remove all versions from 1 to 10 you need to remove model1.xml.zip model2.xml.zip and so on until
model10.xml.zip. Please note that:
a. You will not be able to open the versions you removed.
b. Do not remove latest version, in this case you will not be able to open project at all.
c. If your project is module and used in another project (project B) you can get trouble opening project's B old versions.
5. After clean up, start the server.

Let us know if more help is needed.

Re: How to purge old versions in teamwork

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:28 am
by etienne_f
Thank you for your answer

I'll try the solution you provide me. But this solution is not "packaged". I would like to know if MD will integrate this kind of feature in a future version ? I think it is a real requirement, espacially to avoid that the repository increases too much.

Best regards

Etienne

Re: How to purge old versions in teamwork

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:36 am
by saulius_p
Dear Etienne,

Thank you for the feedback. This is indeed in our plans to have in future together with new collaboration server - Cameo Team Server.

Let us know if you have more questions or issues.

Re: How to purge old versions in teamwork

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 7:30 am
by brandon.gibson@lmco.com
Is this capability still planned for Cameo Team Server? Can we get it integrated into 17.0.1 or 17.0.2? I would find this very useful as well to be able to "purge" old model versions.

Re: How to purge old versions in teamwork

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 5:21 am
by jusbis
Hi,

Currently Cameo Team Server development is suspended. In terms of performance and scalability we plan (and already work) to improve and enhance existing MagicDraw Teamwork Server. This capability is not yet scheduled for implementation into any particular version.
We could inform you when the exact date of the release of Teamwork Server (with this capability) will be known.