Page 1 of 1

Adding layers to diagrams

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:41 am
by douglas.orellana@ngc.com
It would be nice to add a layer feature to diagrams where users can assign content on the diagram to a layer and filter on what layers they want to see at any given time. As these diagrams get bigger there is more complexity to the diagrams and some times it is best to view by layers than the whole data set. This could also help with pinpointing discussion to certain aspects of the diagram content relevant to issue versus seeing the whole thing.

Re: Adding layers to diagrams

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:35 am
by indraja.germanaite@nomagic.com
Dear Douglas Orellana,

Thank you for the suggestion.

We already have this feature registered in our issue database. But maybe you could tell the most frequent use cases or attach sample project illustrating how this feature could help to solve your problems?

Also from MagicDraw 18.5 (included only in SysML Plugin or other customizations) there is a new feature called Diagram Aspects that allows you to create the different views, e.g. electrical, mechanical, optical, for the same system structure. The aspects functionality is driven by stereotypes, which allows you to use predefined or custom aspects for the diagrams.
You can read more about it here: https://docs.nomagic.com/display/MD185/Diagram+aspects

If you have any other questions or encounter any other problems, please feel free to contact us.

Re: Adding layers to diagrams

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:44 pm
by justin.berrier@navy.mil
Has any progress been done for this issue? I need the capability to add layers to a single diagram.